vr. 24 jun. 2022

Results Black Pencil in Schokland Prize

The international call for short compositions ‘Black Pencil in Schokland Prize’ was a tremendous success.

Black Pencil received 174 compositions written by composers from 36 countries: Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, The Netherlands, Turkey, Ukraine, UK, USA, Uzbekistan.

The overwhelming amount of new compositions made a very difficult job for the jury.

It is our pleasure to announce the winners of the ‘Black Pencil in Schokland’ Prize.

The jury decided to grant not one but TWO prizes and three honorary mentions:

Black Pencil in Schokland Prize € 1.500

  • Jonatan de Jesús Carrasco Hernández (Mexico, 1981)
    The Gangway (for accordion)

Black Pencil in Schokland Prize € 1.500

  • Aart Strootman (the Netherlands, 1987)
    Popular Archeology: Volca #1 (for percussion)

Honorary Mentions

  • Luca Donati (Italy, 1995): Ipseity (for viola)
  • Yushun Pei (China, 1992): Breathing (for panflute)
  • Otto Wanke (Austria, 1989): Scattered Views (for recorder)

The five above mentioned compositions will be premiered on 10 July 2022 in Schokland. A professional recording will follow.

The ‘Black Pencil in Schokland’ Prize is a collaboration between Cultuurbedrijf Noordoostpolder and Black Pencil Ensemble during the period 2022-2023. The activities are made possible with the support of the province Flevoland. The jury consisted of the members of Black Pencil (Jorge Isaac-recorder, Matthijs Koene-pan pipes, Esra Pehlivanli-viola, Marko Kassl-accordion, Enric Monfort-percussion) and composer Roderik de Man.

A big THANK YOU to all composers for their participation!